july 02 006

Do you ever have one of those moments where you get a breakthrough…..and then you wonder why you hadn’t thought of that before?  I’ve been collecting bottle caps for phonics games (These sight word caterpillars from This Reading Mama are a personal favorite!), but I threw away several bottle caps (the caps from my yogurt bottles, in particular….here in Peru, you don’t  eat yogurt, you drink it!  And we drink a lot of yogurt) because they were either too dark to write on, or because they had so much writing on top that you couldn’t really see the letters once they were written.

I threw them away.

Oh, my word.

Some days you really just wonder if you actually have a brain up there, or maybe you’re just faking it?  Anyway, this morning I got the brilliant idea (it’s brilliant, really, it is) of using white acrilyc paint to – drumroll, please – paint the top of the bottle caps.  It took me all of two minutes (and that includes the time to open the paint, cover the bottle caps, and wash the brush afterwards!) so it doesn’t really matter if the paint chips a little with use; I can just do it again.  And voilà!  I can now write the letters on the white background and have them show up just  fine.

I wonder if we’ve taken out the garbage yet…..

Leave a Reply

